Login / Sign up
> > > Tooltips Not Working for HTTPS


Messages in topic: Tooltips Not Working for HTTPS
Fanra
Registered User

Nbr post: 7
Register: 3/11/02
Posted: 6/13/17, 1:07 PM

Hello. I run Fanra's EverQuest Wiki - http://everquest.fanra.info - and I've been using your Tooltips for years now. Thank you for them.

The tooltips work fine for http, however, if I view my wiki using https, the tooltips don't work. I have been unable to get them to work. Instead of displaying the tooltip, it just says, "Loading..."

My website uses MediaWiki. Here is the code I use in VectorTemplate.php right above </body>:

<script type="text/javascript" src=" https://www.magelocdn.com/pack/eq/en/magelo-bar.js#3"></script>

I do use Cloudflare to get the HTTPS to work, as I don't have my own SSL certificate. HTTPS seems to work fine for other stuff but not when calling javascript from another website, like Magelo or ZAM.

Please let me know if there is any way to get this to work.

Thank you for your help in this matter.

Fanra
Registered User

Nbr post: 7
Register: 3/11/02
Posted: 6/23/17, 4:42 PM

Now it isn't even working in http. I don't know if you guys changed anything.

Fanra
Registered User

Nbr post: 7
Register: 3/11/02
Posted: 11/15/17, 6:25 PM

Update:

It now works if I use https to visit my website. It does not work with http. This is acceptable.

Unfortunately, I don't want to force https on everyone because Allakahzam's tooltips won't work in https, that is an issue I'm trying to fix with them. But that has nothing to do with you.

Thank you.

Fanra
Registered User

Nbr post: 7
Register: 3/11/02
Posted: 11/16/17, 5:15 PM

Slight issue with the spell icons. The JavaScript seems to be pulling them from http:

http://www.magelocdn.com/images/eq/spell_icones/149.png?v=-1

The rest of the tooltips seem to come from https:

https://www.magelocdn.com/images/tooltip/corner_eq.png?v=15170
https://www.magelocdn.com/images/tooltip/tooltip_css2.png?v=15170

So if the spell icons can be fixed to use https, that would be great.

Of course, it would be best if everything worked in both http and https, depending on the original web page status (http or https), but I think I would settle for just everything being https and working. Since the future of the web is https.

Working with Allakhazam to get them to move to https, but, of course, that is not your department. Just hoping everything gets fixed so I can move my website to pure https.

Jelan
Admin

Nbr post: 11385
Register: 5/4/01
Posted: 11/24/17, 7:48 AM

Hi Fanra,

Sorry for the late feedback. I have updated the script so that tooltips should work both in http and https mode on your side.

I will investigate the issue with spell icons, thanks for reporting this.
imukai
Registered User

Nbr post: 8
Register: 5/23/13
Posted: 10/4/18, 4:52 PM

I guess this is still a problem, since tooltips for EQ items over HTTPS are still not showing their image graphic.

Chrome plainly reports the problem:

magelo-bar.js:447 Mixed Content: The page at ' https://snip-' was loaded over HTTPS, but requested an insecure image ' http://www.magelocdn.com/images/eq/item_icones/item_1195.png?v=-1'. This content should also be served over HTTPS.

I'm using this script:

https://www.magelocdn.com/pack/eq/en/magelo-bar.js#3

Any chance of actually fixing this?
Jelan
Admin

Nbr post: 11385
Register: 5/4/01
Posted: 10/5/18, 6:19 AM

Damn...

I will look into it early next week and get back to you imukai, thanks a lot for the report !
imukai
Registered User

Nbr post: 8
Register: 5/23/13
Posted: 10/7/18, 3:06 PM

I looked in your js – I think all you have to do is change your image url from http to https and you'll be fine.

Your server auto-redirects from http to https but the browser never attempts it because of the mixed content restriction. After making that change, the reverse scenario shouldn't be a problem – if a regular http page called for a https resource it shouldn't block it.
Jelan
Admin

Nbr post: 11385
Register: 5/4/01
Posted: 10/8/18, 9:25 PM

If only it was that simple

The JS stack goes through a pretty complex transformation pipeline that do some url rewriting. I found the issue and this should be fixed now.
Jelan
Admin

Nbr post: 11385
Register: 5/4/01
Posted: 10/8/18, 9:44 PM

Hmm spoke too soon... Still happening, looking into it.
Jelan
Admin

Nbr post: 11385
Register: 5/4/01
Posted: 10/8/18, 11:03 PM

Fixed for good this time !
imukai
Registered User

Nbr post: 8
Register: 5/23/13
Posted: 10/9/18, 2:25 PM

It works now. No more mixed-content error, and the image is successfully retrieved.

As an aside, I had to make one local CSS change to get it to fully work. We have a CSS rule to hide empty divs:

div:empty {display:none;}


I had to add a rule so the image div shows:

.eq-tooltip-icon > div { display: inherit !important; }
imukai
Registered User

Nbr post: 8
Register: 5/23/13
Posted: 10/9/18, 2:37 PM

Side question – sorry to be off topic but I didn't see an appropriate place to ask questions about the tooltip / web-bar stuff. Is it possible to embed an item window on a page to display the same thing the tooltip would display on hover? Something like

<div eqitem="1234" />