Login / Sign up
> > > Can not get Magelo Sync to work


Messages in topic: Can not get Magelo Sync to work
windfinder1
Registered User

Nbr post: 10
Register: 7/26/08
Posted: 6/23/13, 5:59 PM

ok click my magelo sync, windows ask if I want to run I say yes and nothing happens. I have uninstalled the program and reinstalled it still the same thing. can you help me?


http://eq.magelo.com/profile/1420490
loulina
Admin

Nbr post: 4235
Register: 2/8/06
Posted: 6/24/13, 12:59 AM

Hi windfinder1,

Can you try again and check Magelo Sync is not minimized in your systray?
Do you see Magelo Sync in your task manager? Press ctrl+shift+esc to start it.
windfinder1
Registered User

Nbr post: 10
Register: 7/26/08
Posted: 6/24/13, 9:33 PM

nope not there I check to see if it was running in task manager and it was not.


http://eq.magelo.com/profile/1420490
Jelan
Admin

Nbr post: 11425
Register: 5/4/01
Posted: 6/25/13, 12:20 AM

That's strange.... Do you have any log in the Magelo Sync install folder ?
windfinder1
Registered User

Nbr post: 10
Register: 7/26/08
Posted: 7/2/13, 10:52 AM

can not open it to see.


http://eq.magelo.com/profile/1420490
loulina
Admin

Nbr post: 4235
Register: 2/8/06
Posted: 7/2/13, 10:47 PM

The Magelo Sync install folder is in your computer. Please go to Program files > Magelo > Magelo Sync. The log file is there under "magelo.log" name. Please open it with any text editor and copy its content in your reply. Thank you
Midasa
Registered User

Nbr post: 12
Register: 2/5/02
Posted: 7/12/13, 11:41 PM

I am having this exact same issue. The last time Magelo Sync worked for me was 5/22. I have also uninstalled and removed the folder and reinstalled. I double click the exe and nothing happens, the program doesn't run, it's not in the task list, and there is no log file created.

I'm on Win XP still. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
loulina
Admin

Nbr post: 4235
Register: 2/8/06
Posted: 7/15/13, 12:04 AM

Thanks Midasa for your report. It makes us wondering if the issue is with Windows XP... windfinder1, do you also are running Windows XP?

Could you please both try the following:
  • Right click on the Magelo Sync icon
  • Choose "Properties"
  • Go to "Compatibility" tab
  • Check "Run this program as an administrator"
  • Click "Apply" and "Ok"

Then try again to launch Magelo Sync. Does that change anything?
Midasa
Registered User

Nbr post: 12
Register: 2/5/02
Posted: 7/15/13, 9:10 PM

Hi, Loulina. In Win XP there is no option to run as administrator for me. Any other suggestions?
loulina
Admin

Nbr post: 4235
Register: 2/8/06
Posted: 7/16/13, 5:21 AM

Ok... We need to install Windows XP in a virtual machine and try to reproduce the issue. We will keep you posted.
Midasa
Registered User

Nbr post: 12
Register: 2/5/02
Posted: 7/24/13, 2:16 AM

I installed magelo sync on my Win 7 conputer and it works fine. Must be something with XP. On my XP box, I turned off all services, if that makes a difference. It sounds familiar that there was some requirement for some service to be running.
loulina
Admin

Nbr post: 4235
Register: 2/8/06
Posted: 7/24/13, 4:21 AM

Thanks for keeping us posted. We will keep you posted if we find the solution on Windows XP.
Midasa
Registered User

Nbr post: 12
Register: 2/5/02
Posted: 7/27/13, 3:15 PM

While I was doing something on another website, i was told to update my java 7 version. After I did that, i tried Magelo Sync again and it's now working for me on XP. Thanks for your time.
loulina
Admin

Nbr post: 4235
Register: 2/8/06
Posted: 7/28/13, 11:02 PM

Alright, thank you Midasa for the update.

windfinder1, if we are dealing with a Java issue, could you please check the Java version installed on your computer? You need to have Java 7 installed. We recommend you to get both Java7 64 bits and Java7 32 bits installed to avoid any issue.

You can read this FAQ entry for more details about how to update your Java: http://eq.magelo.com/faq/view_entry.jspa?faqEntry=5297

Please keep me posted. Thank you