Login / Sign up
> > > Food for thought...

Messages in topic: Food for thought...
Zaidoc

Nbr post: 161
Register: 8/18/02
Posted: 6/4/08, 7:42 PM

So here I am a few weeks without an update. I renewed my premium account early, but I have been doing manual updates because first the MU wasn't patched for two patches, then surprise a new, bigger, multi-game program file that I can't even get to run is launched as the "solution". It's launched on a Friday evening and judging by the posts on the forums, the Magelo crew took the weekend off and hoped for the best. Even when they came back on Monday, there were only a few defensive posts about the issues that have taken us by storm.

As for the new MageloSynch, some people can run it, and some can't. I can't. I have seen lots of frustrated posts and no responses from Magelo. Many times in the past I have encouraged and supported the Magelo crew on these forums. I understand what software development is like. I do it for a living. However, the one thing over and again I have fussed about is customer service. You cannot just leave your customers in the dark and think it's ok.

I have posted my issues elsewhere, but I will state a few other things here.
1) I am forced (by location) to run on a modem. So having the MU running was acceptable most of the time because it had a low footprint and low bandwidth. The new MS from what people are saying is chewing up CPU and bandwidth. So unless that's fixed it is useless to me.
2) Multiple Games with One program. No matter how this ends up, it will likely always cause issues. For one, I don't play the other games, so unless my selection is automatic and NEVER asks me about games I could care less about, I will be annoyed every time it asks. Since I can't even run the thing I have no idea how it works.